casserole · seafood

Corn Bread and Casserole

I had the opportunity to entertain this week because a girlfriend came over for dinner before we went to see Dame Edna. (*Side note: Dam Edna is my spirit animal and his/her show is absolutely incredible and I feel so blessed to have seen it!!!!!)
I had bought some corn meal a few weeks ago with the intention of one day making corn bread. That day finally came. I built my meal around the cornbread and decided to make something “southern”. Cajun(ish) shrimp, broccoli casserole and cornbread! I found this impossibly easy recipe for cornbread online. I can’t stop saying cornbread!

http://www.cooks.com/recipe/ib0kc9v4/easy-corn-bread.html
I changed it a bit by doing 1 cup cornmeal and 1 cup buckwheat flour. I also used ¼ cup maple syrup instead of sugar. My bread was slightly dry so next time I think I’ll cook it about 5 minutes less. The flavor was amazing and once it was slathered with butter, it was perfect. The key is to eat it while it’s still warm.

tumblr_inline_nmsym4O0O01t8notu_540

Now for the casserole. In my opinion, a casserole isn’t complete without a can of condensed mushroom soup. It adds instant creaminess and flavor without any effort. I sauteed celery and broccoli in a pan then added a can of mushroom soup, a few globs of plain yogurt, parmesan cheese and a couple handfuls of chopped baby spinach. Pour into a casserole dish, top with grated cheddar and breadcrumbs and bake for 25 minutes at 350. This recipe is impossible to screw up. It’s saucy and oozy and went perfectly with the slightly dry cornbread.

tumblr_inline_nmsz3kaWjl1t8notu_540
Now for the shrimpeeeeees! Quickly toss them in cayenne, cumin, oregano, garlic powder, S&P then fry em’ up for a couple of minutes. Eaaaaasy as pie. I challenge anyone and everyone to make this meal. Even if you’re a complete moron in the kitchen, you can for sure make this and your friends will be tres impressed. Once you start making your own bread, people think you’re legit.

Leave a Reply

