pork · Uncategorized

RIBS RIBS RIBS!

Nothing says “SUMMER IS HERE” like a delicious rack of ribs. Unfortunately my condo doesn’t allow BBQ’s so I had to get comfy with my oven. “Low and slow” is always what people say when it comes to ribs, but sometimes I don’t have time for slow. I like my ribs like I like my men, HOT AND FAST. (barf)

I placed the ribs in a large casserole dish and covered them in salt, pepper, smoked paprika, 1 tallboy of Mill Street 100th meridian beer and a dash of mesquite liquid smoke. Cover with tin foil and cook at 350 for 1 hour 20 min. Take the ribs out, drain the liquid, put ribs back in, smother with you fave BBQ sauce and toss back in the oven, uncovered, for another 20-30 minutes. These ribs will be as tender as the day is long! The beer/foil combo helps steam the beer and keep the meat moist so you get that fall off the bone action that we all love so much.

tumblr_inline_nr6bfttZWh1t8notu_540
I made a side dish of caramelized balsamic onions and beets because those are pretty much the only fresh ingredients I had! I also like ribs with coleslaw, so I figured a vinegar based side dish would go very nicely. Sautee 1 sliced onion in butter for 5 minutes. Add a couple glugs of balsamic vinegar, a squeeze of honey, salt and pepper. Cook for another 15 minutes on medium heat. Meanwhile, peel, boil and chop your beets. Add the cooked beets to the onions and let everyone get cozy in the pan 5 minutes before serving.

For my starch, I used the leftover rice to make a cheesy rice patty. I wanted to make cheesy rice balls but they wouldn’t stick together. This was a total science experiment and it turned out surprisingly good. I mixed the day old rice with parsley flakes, steak spice, salt, pepper, glug of olive oil, 1 tbsp ground flax mixed with 1 tbsp water, and 2 tbsp panko bread crumbs. Make 2 large patties. Heat a frying pan with butter and place down one rice patty, top with 1 layer of havarti and put the 2nd rice patty on top of that. Smush it down and don’t touch it until it gets brown and cripsy. Attempt to flip, (It could get messy) and get the other side nice and cripsy. Awkwardly cut it in half and serve. It doesn’t look like a pretty cheesy rice ball but it tastes like a delicious crispy, cheesy rice explosion. YAS!

Leave a Reply

