vegetarian

Veg Out Veg Burger

I probably eat more meat than I should, so I tried my hand at homemade veggie burgers. I’ve made some very unsuccessful veggie patties in the past that have completely fallen apart and tasted like old carpet, so this time I used a recipe as a guide.

http://www.milk-honey.co.uk/veggie-burgers/

This recipe is in grams (Ugh, such a pain!) but I managed to eyeball the ingredients and put my own spin on it. Here’s what I did:

1 can of kidney beans, 8 chopped grape tomatoes (or 1 tomato), 3 tbsp plain quick oats, ½ cup breadcrumbs, chopped fresh basil, tbsp lemon juice, tbsp soy sauce, 1 clove pressed garlic.

tumblr_inline_nmecoiBnyl1t8notu_540
The patties held together very nicely and didn’t fall apart in the pan. I fried them for about 4 minutes on each side. I think I’ll do it a bit longer next time to give the outside more of a crust. I topped the burgers with goat cheese, cheddar cheese, sliced red onion and grainy dijon mustard and served them on Black Bird bakery buns which are like edible chewy clouds.

http://blackbirdbakingco.com/

A crisp piece of lettuce or pickles would have been nice for a bit of additional crunch. I thought these were very good and I would totally make them again. They’re very filling but not heavy like a traditional greasy burger. I would recommend this to vegetarians and non-vegetarians alike! This recipe can also be vegan if you omit the cheese.

Leave a Reply

